Welcome to the Treehouse Community

The Treehouse Community is a meeting place for developers, designers, and programmers of all backgrounds and skill levels to get support. Collaborate here on code errors or bugs that you need feedback on, or asking for an extra set of eyes on your latest project. Join thousands of Treehouse students and alumni in the community today. (Note: Only Treehouse students can comment or ask questions, but non-students are welcome to browse our conversations.)

Looking to learn something new?

Treehouse offers a seven day free trial for new students. Get access to thousands of hours of content and a supportive community. Start your free trial today.

General Discussion

I'm at the end of my free trial. If I cancel it now, will work (badges) be preserved when I come back after 1 month?

I'm at the end of my free trial. If I cancel it now, will work (badges) be preserved when I come back after 1 month?

6 Answers

Hi Daniel!

A great feature of Treehouse is the ability to 'pause' your account. This means that your account will still be active and you will still be able to get access to the forums and etc but you won't be able to view any of the content. Once you decide you want to come back all you have to do is 'resume' your account and your full membership will start up again.

-Luke

If I come back in the middle of a month,...is there some prorating of fees or will the month clock reset on the date I come back (30 day period) ?

Chris Shaw
Chris Shaw
26,650 Points

Hi Daniel,

The pause feature just keep your account in the state it was when you paused it therefore no fees are incurred during this period.

I am in the trial period now. I did click the the "Pause" account button and it returned a message that I can't pause during a trial. So, if I actually cancel, can my previous progress be saved for when I return? I have to make a decision today. Thanks, if you know the answer.

Daniel

Maja B.
Maja B.
12,984 Points

Probably you need to pay for at least one month (Basic account is $25) and than pause. It kind of makes sense because first you need to be a Member (and you become a Member when you pay, not when you are on a free trial) and than you have the option to pause.

What I really like is that you can pause for as many months you like and as many times you like. This is a new rule (established about a week ago). Before that new rule you could only pause for 3 months and it was not clear weather this is just a one time opportunity or you can pause as many times you like.

So, having already 963 points, probably its the best choice to just pay now and than after one month is over pause.

As for your question: If I come back in the middle of a month,...is there some prorating of fees or will the month clock reset on the date I come back (30 day period) ?: I guess (just guess) the month clock will reset on the date you come back. But I haven't had such a situation.

Nevertheless, I had the same question for switching from Basic to Pro. For example if I pay for Basic and switch to Pro on the day 20 - probably TreeHouse will not make a refund for the 10 days of Basic. The clock will just reset and what could be the day 21 of Basic will become day 1 of Pro. I guess.

Hope it helps. I've contacted Support and they were very nice explaining the former pause rule. But if you need to decide today its probably too late to ask the Support.

This is a good question!

If i'm on a free trial, Treehouse said it's going to Close my Account!! What does that mean I lose all my badges!?? What if it clses my account and I come back in 1 year, can I reOpen my account?

Does my JSON file of badges stay avalible even if my account is "closed"?

if i cancel my account during the trial period it will charge ah