Welcome to the Treehouse Community

The Treehouse Community is a meeting place for developers, designers, and programmers of all backgrounds and skill levels to get support. Collaborate here on code errors or bugs that you need feedback on, or asking for an extra set of eyes on your latest project. Join thousands of Treehouse students and alumni in the community today. (Note: Only Treehouse students can comment or ask questions, but non-students are welcome to browse our conversations.)

Looking to learn something new?

Treehouse offers a seven day free trial for new students. Get access to thousands of hours of content and a supportive community. Start your free trial today.

Development Tools

Github deleting fork after pull request?

I am new to github. I recenty

  1. forked a repo
  2. made changes that fixed an issue
  3. created a pull request
  4. that pull request was accepted.
  5. I no longer want to make changes to that repo.

Now what do I do with the forked reop?

Should I delete it so my profile does not get filled with a lot of forked repos?

Does deleting the fork remove any important information?

Is there a way to remove the fork from being listed on my profile, but still exist so any important information is lost?

1 Answer

Bruce Röttgers
Bruce Röttgers
18,211 Points

There shouldn’t get any info lost. In fact, Github suggests deleting branches after merging them on the page, which is similar. You shouldn’t worry deleting them. The new code is in the repo and it won’t get lost.