Welcome to the Treehouse Community

The Treehouse Community is a meeting place for developers, designers, and programmers of all backgrounds and skill levels to get support. Collaborate here on code errors or bugs that you need feedback on, or asking for an extra set of eyes on your latest project. Join thousands of Treehouse students and alumni in the community today. (Note: Only Treehouse students can comment or ask questions, but non-students are welcome to browse our conversations.)

Looking to learn something new?

Treehouse offers a seven day free trial for new students. Get access to thousands of hours of content and a supportive community. Start your free trial today.

HTML HTML Basics Images, Text and Links Understanding File Paths

Retrieving deleted files

I a working on html basics and have accidentally deleted all the images that were originally in the root folder. Is there any way I can retrieve them?

Further to what Steven said, in the future you may want to take a course on Git. Git is software used to track versions of your project over time. It allows you to go back to a previous version of your project if something in the present gets screwed up. Git is a bit of a more advanced skill, but if you take the Introduction to the Terminal course first, and then taken Introduction to Git, then you'll be in good shape to fix any seemingly irreversible file deletions or problems with your code. Many people wait until they are a little more advanced to learn Git and the terminal, but my opinion is that there's no reason you can't learn these tools when you're a complete beginner if you so choose. They can only help you along the way.

Steven Parker
Steven Parker
218,639 Points

You could also make backups by just downloading the workspace. :wink:

You sure can. These aren't competing methods. Backups are great if you're working in Workspaces. If someone wants to install a text editor and start working locally, Git is a great solution. I wish I learned it earlier.

1 Answer

Steven Parker
Steven Parker
218,639 Points

You can restart the workspace.

First, save (download) any work you have done that you want to keep. Then go to the Workspaces page and locate the one you are using. Click on the trashcan icon on the right side to delete the workspace, and confirm when you get the pop-up.

With the workspace deleted, you can go back to the course and "Launch Workspace" again. When it comes up, it should have all the files you started with in their initial states. Then upload any work you saved and continue with the course.